Error while making door

A forum about everything related to the Cafu World Editor CaWE: mapping, editing, scripting, making GUIs and fonts, using the BSP, PVS and Light compilers.
User avatar
bigjj13
Posts: 68
Joined: 2010-04-04, 19:16
Location: Germany
Contact:

Error while making door

Postby bigjj13 » 2010-07-17, 09:07

Hi,

i just tried to turn a Block into a "funk_door", but then there was a error:
Image

Here is the map:
map.zip
(7.68 KiB) Downloaded 129 times

Thanks

BigJJ
BigJJ -- SG-O
Image
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2007
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Error while making door

Postby Carsten » 2010-07-17, 14:09

Hi BigJJ,

thank you for reporting this bug, which I've just fixed in r99.
Can you please upgrade to SVN head and test if it works? :up:
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
bigjj13
Posts: 68
Joined: 2010-04-04, 19:16
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Error while making door

Postby bigjj13 » 2010-07-17, 14:27

Hi,

it didnt work.

if do it now CaWE just quits!

Thanks BigJJ
BigJJ -- SG-O
Image
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2007
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Error while making door

Postby Carsten » 2010-07-18, 11:09

bigjj13 wrote:if do it now CaWE just quits!

Works for me, but what exactly is "it"??

Can you please re-try with the debug version (i.e. build\win32\vc9\debug\CaWE\CaWE.exe), and see what happens?
(Alternatively, can you please run the debug version under debugger control?)
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
bigjj13
Posts: 68
Joined: 2010-04-04, 19:16
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Error while making door

Postby bigjj13 » 2010-07-18, 13:05

Hi,

bigjj13 wrote:
if do it now CaWE just quits!

Works for me, but what exactly is "it"??

if i try to make a door or something else CaWE just quits.

There are no errors.

How do I debug the Programm?

Thanks Bigjj
BigJJ -- SG-O
Image
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2007
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Error while making door

Postby Carsten » 2010-07-18, 15:45

bigjj13 wrote:How do I debug the Programm?

Can you please confirm that you're using SVN head?

  • One option is to just run build\win32\vc9\debug\CaWE\CaWE.exe (instead of ...\release\...). It may show the same behavior as before (please let us know!), or it may show a dialog with an assertion failure or something else. If you already have a JIT (just-in-time) debugger installed, the debugger may open as well (this would be the preferred solution, as it allows you to explore where and why the problem occurred).

  • Alternatively, use Visual Studio to run the CaWE.exe under debugger control.

  • Otherwise, if you use an Express Edition of Visual Studio, get and install WinDbg, which is part of the Debugging Tools for Windows.

    After installation, set windbg as the default post-mortem debugger by running windbg -I at the command line. See e.g. http://blogs.msdn.com/b/jigarme/archive ... gging.aspx and http://support.citrix.com/article/ctx107528 for details.

    When you next run CaWE and it crashes, the debugger should open automatically with the stack trace.
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
bigjj13
Posts: 68
Joined: 2010-04-04, 19:16
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Error while making door

Postby bigjj13 » 2010-07-22, 15:45

Hi,

One option is to just run build\win32\vc9\debug\CaWE\CaWE.exe (instead of ...\release\...). It may show the same behavior as before (please let us know!), or it may show a dialog with an assertion failure or something else. If you already have a JIT (just-in-time) debugger installed, the debugger may open as well (this would be the preferred solution, as it allows you to explore where and why the problem occurred).

Nothing changed.

Sincerely

BigJJ
BigJJ -- SG-O
Image
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2007
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Error while making door

Postby Carsten » 2010-07-22, 16:13

Hi BigJJ,

I'm currently working on upgrading to wxWidgets 2.9.1. Once that's done, CaWE will be able to create a crash report automatically that we can use to find bugs even when the crash occurred on a user machine where typically no JIT debugger or other development tools are available. I hope to complete the transition to the new version sometime next week.

:arrow: Until then, can you please confirm that you're using SVN head?
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
bigjj13
Posts: 68
Joined: 2010-04-04, 19:16
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Error while making door

Postby bigjj13 » 2010-07-24, 10:25

Hi,

Until then, can you please confirm that you're using SVN head?

I'm sorry, but I don't know what this SVN head is.

Thanks

BigJJ
BigJJ -- SG-O
Image
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2007
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Error while making door

Postby Carsten » 2010-07-24, 23:23

bigjj13 wrote:I'm sorry, but I don't know what this SVN head is.

Ah, ok, sorry, this was not quite clear from your previous messages.
See http://subversion.apache.org/ and http://svnbook.red-bean.com/ for details.

However, if you don't want to get and install Subversion (whose name is frequently abbreviated as SVN, and learning it is certainly time well spent!), I'll upload updated zip source code archives soon. We need a few more days though to complete several changes first (plus related documentation etc.), so please be a little more patient. With a bit of luck, I'll have the new files ready well before the end of the new week.
Best regards,
Carsten

Return to “Editing and Mapping with CaWE”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests