Page 1 of 1

Model doesnt load... again

Posted: 2006-04-23, 20:25
by Sindwiller
Hi everyone!

Now the devils plant is a model called "cabels01.ase". It contains 2 textures (i hope it so...). A fence texture and a metal texture. Additionally, the fence texture has a normal map.

Odd is the fact, that the model can be loaded into the model viewer (but without alpha channel :shock: ), but it cant be loaded into my lvl.

Maybe its because i tried to stick 2 materials into the .ase *MATERIAL_LIST .

Code: Select all

*MATERIAL_LIST {
   *MATERIAL_COUNT 1
   *MATERIAL 0 {
      *MATERIAL_NAME "Models/Static/cabels01/fence_metal"
      *MATERIAL_CLASS "Standard"
      *MATERIAL_AMBIENT 0.5000   0.5000   0.5000
      *MATERIAL_DIFFUSE 1.0000   1.0000   1.0000
      *MATERIAL_SPECULAR 0.0000   0.0000   0.0000
      *MATERIAL_SHINE 0.7813

   *MATERIAL 1 {
	*MATERIAL_NAME "Models/Static/cabels01/de-r_mtl2b"
	*MATERIAL_CLASS "Standard"
	*MATERIAL_AMBIENT 0.5000 0.5000 0.5000
	*MATERIAL_DIFFUSE 1.0000 1.0000 1.0000
	*MATERIAL_SPECULAR 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
	*MATERIAL_SHINE 0.7813
   }
}

}
And the two materials in Static.cmat:

Code: Select all

Models/Static/cabels01/fence_metal
{

    diffusemap Models/Static/fence_metal.png
    normalmap Models/Static/fence_metal_nm.png
}

Models/Static/cabels01/de-r_mtl2b
{
    diffusemap Models/Static/de-r_mtl2b.png
}
Thx!

Wfr, Sindwiller

Posted: 2006-04-23, 21:51
by Kai
Uhm yeah, afaik this is not possible to use 2 different maps for one model, this is just a simple technical problem with ase support.

I'm not sure how Carsten was supposed to solve this, but he knows about this problem ;)
Either use 2 seperate parts for your model or use one diffusemap for all elements !

Btw i have no idea about the relevance of the material code but isn't it necessary to say

Code: Select all

*MATERIAL_LIST {
     *MATERIAL_COUNT 2
   
   *MATERIAL 0 {
      *MATERIAL_NAME "Models/Static/cabels01/fence_metal"
      *MATERIAL_CLASS "Standard"
      *MATERIAL_AMBIENT 0.5000   0.5000   0.5000
      *MATERIAL_DIFFUSE 1.0000   1.0000   1.0000
      *MATERIAL_SPECULAR 0.0000   0.0000   0.0000
      *MATERIAL_SHINE 0.7813
      }

   *MATERIAL 1 {
      *MATERIAL_NAME "Models/Static/cabels01/de-r_mtl2b"
      *MATERIAL_CLASS "Standard"
      *MATERIAL_AMBIENT 0.5000 0.5000 0.5000
      *MATERIAL_DIFFUSE 1.0000 1.0000 1.0000
      *MATERIAL_SPECULAR 0.0000 0.0000 0.0000
      *MATERIAL_SHINE 0.7813
      }
}

But as i said before, you can not have multiple maps of the same type in one model.
This is something that will be changed later, i hope.

Posted: 2006-04-23, 21:56
by Thrawn
Yes Kai, as far as I can see, you corrected all faults :)

Posted: 2006-04-23, 22:22
by Sindwiller
Thats bad... because DeleD doesnt have advanced skinning functions :evil:

Well then... i'll use only one texture...

Wfr, Sindwiller

Posted: 2006-04-25, 09:54
by Carsten
Let's be careful here:

More than one material is supported by the Ca3DE ase code, but there can only be one material per mesh (multiple meshes can be in one ase file).

What is not supported is meshes that have multiple materials at the same time, that is, meshes where each triangle possibly has a material different from the other triangles of the same mesh. Such use of "sub-materials" will just be ignored, and the mesh be rendered with a single material.

Posted: 2006-05-01, 21:11
by Sindwiller
And again... but this time, the problem can't be found...

Model: http://rapidshare.de/files/19378885/chunk.rar.html

This Error comes at the end, when i want to load my model through the ModelViewer.
WARNING: Material 'Models/Static/chunk/cementwall' not found!
Materialshader:

Code: Select all

Models/Static/chunk/cementwall
{
    diffusemap Models/Static/cementwall.jpg

    red ambientLightRed
    green ambientLightGreen
    blue ambient LightBlue
}
Wfr, Sindwiller

Posted: 2006-05-01, 21:28
by Thrawn
Does this model work for you?

Posted: 2006-05-01, 21:39
by Sindwiller
No, it doesnt work... but thanks anyway :D

I found another error message at the beginning:
Error parsing Games/DeathMatch/Materials/Models/Static.cmat at input byte 5850.
This might be something fatal?

Wfr, Sindwiller

Posted: 2006-05-01, 22:22
by Thrawn
Well after messing around quite some time with it, I got it to work. I could not figure out where the problem was though.

Download

Looks like this manual method does not work for you. The only thing I can offer you is to import everything for you into Ca3DE.

If you got something like MSN or ICQ, now is the optimal time to let me know :wink:

Posted: 2006-05-02, 21:47
by Sindwiller
Hey cool, thanks dude! It works now! :D
If you got something like MSN or ICQ, now is the optimal time to let me know
Well, i have Skype (MSN stinks;because Microsoft; ICQ stinks; Because of really Userhostile EULA;And both dont have good clients for Linux).

Just search for me: Name "Sindwiller", Accname "sindwillergd.net"

Wfr, Sindwiller