No fonts in Demos

Get help with installing and running the Cafu Engine here. This forum is also for general questions and discussion of all aspects regarding the Cafu Engine.
adsicks
Posts:10
Joined:2014-02-11, 12:26
No fonts in Demos

Post by adsicks » 2014-02-11, 12:46

I pulled Cafu from git today

Code: Select all

git clone https://bitbucket.org/cafu/cafu.git Cafu
Built it fine.

Added Demo zip files to:

Textures.zip to Games/DeathMatch/Textures
Worlds.zip to Games/DeathMatch/Worlds


Running the demo from the top Cafu directory with:

Code: Select all

./build/linux2/g++/release/Ca3DE/Cafu
And I have no fonts in the buttons (e.g. New Game, Load Game,)

I am also wondering if the code I pulled has the proper password for the .zip file for the SkyDomes.zip file as I have some textures not found, yet the zip file is in the root of the ~/Textures directory and the png's are in there.

Console output:

Code: Select all

Cafu Engine, Feb 10 2014
config.lua processed.
Warning: Failed to open ZIP archive Games/DeathMatch/Textures/TechDemo.zip
Registering archive "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes.zip".

Scanning cwd for all available renderers...
Scanning Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/MaterialSystem for all available renderers...
Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/MaterialSystem/libRendererCgNV2X.so ... libCg.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory, FAILED - could not load the library at Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/MaterialSystem/libRendererCgNV2X.so.
Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/MaterialSystem/libRendererCgARB1.so ... libCg.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory, FAILED - could not load the library at Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/MaterialSystem/libRendererCgARB1.so.
Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/MaterialSystem/libRendererNull.so ... SUCCESS - but excluded from auto-selection (Pref# 1).
Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/MaterialSystem/libRendererARBprogs.so ... SUCCESS - first supported renderer (Pref# 2200).
Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/MaterialSystem/libRendererOpenGL12.so ... SUCCESS - but no higher preference (Pref# 1000).
Reloading previously auto-selected renderer Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/MaterialSystem/libRendererARBprogs.so ...

Scanning cwd for all available sound systems...
Scanning Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/SoundSystem for all available sound systems...
Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/SoundSystem/libSoundSysOpenAL.so ... SUCCESS - first supported sound system (Pref# 1500).
Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/SoundSystem/libSoundSysNull.so ... SUCCESS - but excluded from auto-selection (Pref# 1).
Reloading previously auto-selected sound system Libs/build/linux2/g++/release/SoundSystem/libSoundSysOpenAL.so ...
Available OpenAL output devices:
	1. ALSA Software [default]
	2. OSS Software
Available OpenAL capture devices:
	1. ALSA Capture on default [default]
	2. ALSA Capture on HDA Intel [CX20561 Analog] (hw:0,0)
	3. OSS Capture
Available OpenAL output devices with the ALC_ENUMERATE_ALL_EXT extension:
	1. ALSA Software on default [default]
	2. ALSA Software on HDA Intel [CX20561 Analog] (hw:0,0)
	3. ALSA Software on HDA Intel [CX20561 Digital] (hw:0,1)
	4. ALSA Software on HDA Intel [HDMI 0] (hw:0,3)
	5. OSS Software
Note: Illegal Audio-MPEG-Header 0xf88e50b8 at offset 0x384.
Note: Trying to resync...
Note: Skipped 113 bytes in input.
Warning: C++ class name for entity class name "ammo_9mmAR" not found.
Warning: C++ class name for entity class name "ammo_ARgrenades" not found.
Warning: Key "ammo_buckshot" not found in table EntityClassDefs!
Warning: C++ class name for entity class name "ammo_buckshot" not found.
Warning: C++ class name for entity class name "ammo_9mmAR" not found.
Warning: Key "ammo_rpgclip" not found in table EntityClassDefs!
Warning: C++ class name for entity class name "ammo_rpgclip" not found.
Warning: C++ class name for entity class name "ammo_ARgrenades" not found.
Warning: C++ class name for entity class name "ammo_9mmAR" not found.
Warning: Key "ammo_buckshot" not found in table EntityClassDefs!
Warning: C++ class name for entity class name "ammo_buckshot" not found.
Warning: Key "ammo_rpgclip" not found in table EntityClassDefs!
Warning: C++ class name for entity class name "ammo_rpgclip" not found.
cannot open Games/DeathMatch/Worlds/BPRockB.lua: No such file or directory
Level changed on server.
OK

Connecting to 127.0.0.1:30000
(timeout 8.0 seconds)...

PCLP: Got a connection request from 127.0.0.1:33000
Player joined.
Libs/MaterialSystem/MaterialManagerImpl.cpp (369): GetMaterial("Gui/Default") returns NULL.
Load World "BPRockB".
libpng warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_px.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_py.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_pz.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_nx.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_ny.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_nz.png".
libpng warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
libpng warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
libpng warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
libpng warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
libpng warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
libpng warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/$lightmap".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "./file-not-found".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Models/Weapons/Beretta/Shotgun_v_arm1_diff.png".
OK

Gentoo Linux x86_64 4Gb Ram Intel Mobile 4 Series Graphic Card. OpenGl 2.1 Mesa 9.6.1 Kernel Driver i915
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by Carsten » 2014-02-11, 15:03

Hi adsicks,
welcome to the Cafu forums :welcome:, and thanks for your exemplary report!
adsicks wrote: Running the demo from the top Cafu directory with:

Code: Select all

./build/linux2/g++/release/Ca3DE/Cafu
And I have no fonts in the buttons (e.g. New Game, Load Game,)
This is a problem I've never seen before, while you clearly did everything right.

Under Linux, we use the system's png library ("libpng") for loading and saving png images, because using our own copy of libpng entails a plethora of problems. (This is not specific to Cafu, but the general problem affects quasi every software that uses both libpng and other system libraries.)

From the console output:

Code: Select all

libpng warning: Interlace handling should be turned on when using png_read_image
it looks as if the system's libpng has been built without support for interlacing, so the fault is most likely with Gentoo, not with Cafu. (Is it an option for you to file this with the Gentoo developers, and/or to reconfigure and recompile the system's libpng yourself?)

On the other hand, this seems to indicate that the png image files that we use for fonts have been saved in interlacing mode, and that re-saving them "normally", without interlacing, should work-around the problem.
When I'm back at home, I'll check this out in greater depth and then get back to you! :-)
I am also wondering if the code I pulled has the proper password for the .zip file for the SkyDomes.zip file as I have some textures not found, yet the zip file is in the root of the ~/Textures directory and the png's are in there.
I see this in the entity-component-system branch, too, and was not aware that this affects master as well. I'll look into this asap, too! :up:
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by Carsten » 2014-02-12, 11:11

Hi adsicks,

partial progress: I was able to fix the bug related to loading images from the SkyDomes.zip archive. For some reason, support for "uncrypting" zip files is disabled in the latest releases of zlib, so the latest upgrade broke our image loading. See change 2301eee for details.

Btw., you are on branch entity-component-system, not on master, are you?
From your post above, I got the impression you were on master, but only entity-component-system is affected by this problem. So please pull and recompile. :up:

And please be aware that entity-component-system is my current development branch. I'm happy that you're using it, you should just be aware that it is not (yet) "stable". That is, it works very well, but sometimes things change rapidly, so it is not good yet for basing own developments on top of it. For example, it cannot run the precompiled world files from Worlds.zip.

I'll also still look into the problem with missing fonts / png interlace warning.
Best regards,
Carsten
adsicks
Posts:10
Joined:2014-02-11, 12:26

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by adsicks » 2014-02-12, 15:29

Code: Select all

git clone https://bitbucket.org/cafu/cafu.git Cafu
Then

Code: Select all

scons
That was my pull, did I pull the right branch? I am really new to this engine so I am more or less in evaluation mode. So I think I want to use the stable code for now. But if the git method is always bleeding edge, I can live with that.

Poking around on google I think there may be a problem with texture sizes and shaders. I know intel can only do a 4k X 4k texture. A forum for another linux opengl game mentioned shaders cause like a 1K X 1K limit on intel and the work around was to change the texture sizes. It kind of makes sense since in one map I got into, I could move around, but all I could see was a few flashing lights. I have written code with gtk2.0 and put 6 1K X 2K png's in as textures, rotated and skew them as a unit, and didn't have a problem, but I have never done anything to the scale of this engine.

I can post screen shots of any problems I mentioned if you need them and they would be helpful.

Anyways, I am upgrading my graphics driver with all the options and when all my updates are compiled and I get back tonight I will do a new pull and recompile and see where it is at.

Is there an option to disable shaders and/or limit texture sizes for debugging purposes? I really haven't dug into the code documentation yet because as I have said, I am still in evaluation mode.

BTW: I saw some of your conceptual charts and kudos for sharing them.

UPDATE I am indeed using the master branch according to the output of git log.
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by Carsten » 2014-02-13, 10:14

adsicks wrote:

Code: Select all

git clone https://bitbucket.org/cafu/cafu.git Cafu
That was my pull, did I pull the right branch?
That looks right and should have checked you out branch "master", but the symptoms that you describe should only be relevant for branch "entity-component-system".

Can you please post the output of this command?

Code: Select all

git branch -v -a
I am really new to this engine so I am more or less in evaluation mode. So I think I want to use the stable code for now. But if the git method is always bleeding edge, I can live with that.
No, git checkout master should bring you there, but then you possibly must delete directory ExtLibs/wxWidgets/build-gtk before the next run of SCons, because the wxWidgets version changed between "master" and "entity-component-system", is not (fully) under SCons control, but still needs to be rebuilt.

As an alternative,

Code: Select all

git clone https://bitbucket.org/cafu/cafu.git -b master Cafu-master
really should checkout "master" by default, from scratch, but this should have been the case beforehand, too.
[...]It kind of makes sense since in one map I got into, I could move around, but all I could see was a few flashing lights. I have written code with gtk2.0 and put 6 1K X 2K png's in as textures, rotated and skew them as a unit, and didn't have a problem, but I have never done anything to the scale of this engine.

I can post screen shots of any problems I mentioned if you need them and they would be helpful.
Well, yes, please, but the real problem for me is that I cannot reproduce these issues here, also not the one with the libpng interlace issue.

From the rest that you describe, it sounds as if there might be a graphics driver related problem as well?
Is there an option to disable shaders and/or limit texture sizes for debugging purposes?
Well, yes, for debugging, you can try something like

Code: Select all

./build/linux2/g++/debug/Ca3DE/Cafu -clRenderer Libs/build/linux2/g++/debug/MaterialSystem/libRendererOpenGL12.so
to use debug rather than the release build, and to force-fallback to the OpenGL 1.2 renderer.
BTW: I saw some of your conceptual charts and kudos for sharing them.
:thanks: (which ones specifically do you mean?)
UPDATE I am indeed using the master branch according to the output of git log.
Oh. I see this only now. In this case, you can ignore much of what I wrote above about Git. On the other hand, the fact that you see all these graphics problems with "master" seems all the more to indicate that something is fishy with your system setup, where I'd start looking for the source of the problems.

For example, do other OpenGL applications work on your system?
Oh, and could you please post the output of

Code: Select all

ldd ./build/linux2/g++/debug/Ca3DE/Cafu
Best regards,
Carsten
adsicks
Posts:10
Joined:2014-02-11, 12:26

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by adsicks » 2014-02-13, 13:20

Git output.

Code: Select all

* master                                 1debdc3 Remove the work-around for compilers that don't properly implement the for-loop scoping rules.
  remotes/origin/HEAD                    -> origin/master
  remotes/origin/entity-component-system 2301eee zlib: Enable support for "uncrypting" zip files.
  remotes/origin/master                  1debdc3 Remove the work-around for compilers that don't properly implement the for-loop scoping rules.
  remotes/origin/premake                 f8118e8 Another update to our `premake4.lua` scripts.
  remotes/origin/vendor                  94d47ef zlib: Upgrade to 1.2.8.
For example, do other OpenGL applications work on your system?
I am running Compiz and have a desktop cube and 3D effects, Google Earth works, but that is a QT implementation of OpenGl, The Decent 3 Demo works fine, OpenGl works in a Virtual Machine in a Windows Host, etc.
From the rest that you describe, it sounds as if there might be a graphics driver related problem as well?
Intel Mobile 4 is an older card and I am on a laptop, and shaders are relatively new to OpenGl, so I would guess if the driver somehow thinks the card can accelerate something it really can't it wouldn't fallback to software leaving a bunch of black(?)

Code: Select all

ldd ./build/linux2/g++/debug/Ca3DE/Cafu
	linux-vdso.so.1 (0x00007fff821ff000)
	libGL.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libGL.so.1 (0x000000387c000000)
	libGLU.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libGLU.so.1 (0x000000387f400000)
	libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0x000000387fc00000)
	libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0x0000003880400000)
	libpangocairo-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libpangocairo-1.0.so.0 (0x000000387e000000)
	libatk-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libatk-1.0.so.0 (0x0000003fcf800000)
	libcairo.so.2 => /usr/lib64/libcairo.so.2 (0x0000003880a00000)
	libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 (0x000000387d800000)
	libgio-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libgio-2.0.so.0 (0x0000003fcba00000)
	libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 (0x0000003fce800000)
	libpango-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libpango-1.0.so.0 (0x0000003fcf000000)
	libgobject-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libgobject-2.0.so.0 (0x0000003fc9200000)
	libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libfreetype.so.6 (0x0000003fc5600000)
	libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libfontconfig.so.1 (0x0000003fc6200000)
	libgthread-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libgthread-2.0.so.0 (0x0000003fd5200000)
	librt.so.1 => /lib64/librt.so.1 (0x0000003fc2a00000)
	libglib-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libglib-2.0.so.0 (0x0000003fc3e00000)
	libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libX11.so.6 (0x0000003879800000)
	libXxf86vm.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libXxf86vm.so.1 (0x000000387d400000)
	libSM.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libSM.so.6 (0x0000003fc6e00000)
	libpng16.so.16 => /usr/lib64/libpng16.so.16 (0x0000003fc6600000)
	libexpat.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libexpat.so.1 (0x0000003fc5a00000)
	libz.so.1 => /lib64/libz.so.1 (0x0000003fc2600000)
	libdl.so.2 => /lib64/libdl.so.2 (0x0000003fc1e00000)
	libpthread.so.0 => /lib64/libpthread.so.0 (0x0000003fc2200000)
	libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.7.3/libstdc++.so.6 (0x000000387a400000)
	libm.so.6 => /lib64/libm.so.6 (0x0000003fc1a00000)
	libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.7.3/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x000000387a000000)
	libc.so.6 => /lib64/libc.so.6 (0x0000003fc1600000)
	libglapi.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libglapi.so.0 (0x000000387d000000)
	libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libXext.so.6 (0x0000003879c00000)
	libXdamage.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libXdamage.so.1 (0x000000387cc00000)
	libXfixes.so.3 => /usr/lib64/libXfixes.so.3 (0x000000387a800000)
	libX11-xcb.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libX11-xcb.so.1 (0x0000003fca200000)
	libxcb-glx.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libxcb-glx.so.0 (0x000000387c800000)
	libxcb-dri2.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libxcb-dri2.so.0 (0x000000387c400000)
	libxcb.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libxcb.so.1 (0x0000003879400000)
	libdrm.so.2 => /usr/lib64/libdrm.so.2 (0x0000003fc9e00000)
	libgmodule-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libgmodule-2.0.so.0 (0x0000003fc8a00000)
	libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libXrender.so.1 (0x000000387ac00000)
	libXinerama.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libXinerama.so.1 (0x000000387bc00000)
	libXi.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libXi.so.6 (0x000000387b800000)
	libXrandr.so.2 => /usr/lib64/libXrandr.so.2 (0x000000387b000000)
	libXcursor.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libXcursor.so.1 (0x000000387b400000)
	libXcomposite.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libXcomposite.so.1 (0x000000387e400000)
	libpixman-1.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libpixman-1.so.0 (0x0000003fd1000000)
	libEGL.so.1 => /usr/lib64/libEGL.so.1 (0x0000003881600000)
	libxcb-shm.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libxcb-shm.so.0 (0x0000003880e00000)
	libxcb-render.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libxcb-render.so.0 (0x00007fc5b45cf000)
	libresolv.so.2 => /lib64/libresolv.so.2 (0x0000003fc8e00000)
	libharfbuzz.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libharfbuzz.so.0 (0x0000003fcd200000)
	libffi.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libffi.so.6 (0x0000003fc7a00000)
	libbz2.so.1 => /lib64/libbz2.so.1 (0x0000003fc4e00000)
	libICE.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libICE.so.6 (0x0000003fc6a00000)
	libuuid.so.1 => /lib64/libuuid.so.1 (0x0000003fc5e00000)
	/lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x0000003fc1200000)
	libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libXau.so.6 (0x0000003fc3a00000)
	libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib64/libXdmcp.so.6 (0x0000003fc3200000)
	libxcb-xfixes.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libxcb-xfixes.so.0 (0x000000387f800000)
	libwayland-client.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libwayland-client.so.0 (0x0000003881a00000)
	libwayland-server.so.0 => /usr/lib64/libwayland-server.so.0 (0x0000003881e00000)
	libudev.so.1 => /lib64/libudev.so.1 (0x0000003fc7600000)
	libgraphite2.so.3 => /usr/lib64/libgraphite2.so.3 (0x0000003fcf400000)
I have also attached screen shots from the start screen of the game.

When I get a chance I will do a debug build with

Code: Select all

./build/linux2/g++/debug/Ca3DE/Cafu -clRenderer Libs/build/linux2/g++/debug/MaterialSystem/libRendererOpenGL12.so
And see where I am at.

(which ones specifically do you mean?)
I was particularly impressed with the post on Component Systems. I'm an OOP nut, what can I say.
Attachments
no-font.png
no-font2.png
no-font3.png
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by Carsten » 2014-02-14, 15:09

Ok, thanks for all the details that you posted!

It looks as if this problem is not related to graphics setup (driver, OpenGL, etc.), but rather to loading png image files (I still think it's somehow related to the system's libpng version, but read on). I've written a small Python tool that examines the details of the png files that we use. It turns out that the files that fail to load are not interlaced after all, but they all come with an alpha channel.

So... in the screenshot that shows the black alien model, if you click on the blank box (2nd from top) to toggle the model, are other models all-black, too, or are there some that are not black, but with their proper texture?

Btw., you can run

Code: Select all

./build/linux2/g++/debug/Ca3DE/Cafu -clRenderer Libs/build/linux2/g++/debug/MaterialSystem/libRendererOpenGL12.so
anytime SCons has successfully finished -- debug and release builds are always built next to each other.
Best regards,
Carsten
adsicks
Posts:10
Joined:2014-02-11, 12:26

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by adsicks » 2014-02-14, 16:16

I scrolled thru all the models and they are all black.

I am using libpng16

Code: Select all

media-libs/libpng-1.6.8:0/16  USE="apng (-neon) -static-libs
the apng use flag adds support for the unofficial APNG (Animated PNG) spec
the neon flag is for ARM instructions.

The only other thing I can do is maybe mask it and downgrade to any of these three:

1.5.17-r15
1.5.17-r1
1.5.15

If I run the debug version as it is and pull a log will that give you more info?

I'm not sure why it is only this engine having problems. I can do alpha channels and such in GIMP but I believe the new GIMP is all ported to GTK3.0 (and I don't think the image manipulation libraries are the same front end to libpng). I am guessing you are using pixbuf, so maybe I have something incompatible in gtk2(?).
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by Carsten » 2014-02-15, 20:16

Hi adsicks,

again many thanks for the info that you provided, and for your patience. :-)

From the fact that the main menu's background image is visible in the screenshots that you posted, I still suspect that something goes wrong at the file loading level...

Would you mind starting a map, and see if that is all black as well?
In the main menu, the bottom left button is "New Game", and in the subsequent dialog, there is a choice of maps (it doesn't matter which one you take), and a single "OK" button that loads and starts the map.
In the maps, a lot of jpg textures are used for the walls, and I was wondering if they're all black, too?
adsicks wrote:The only other thing I can do is maybe mask it and downgrade to any of these three:

1.5.17-r15
1.5.17-r1
1.5.15
Ok. Additionally, I'll try this against libpng 1.6 tomorrow, in the hope that I can somehow reproduce this here.
If I run the debug version as it is and pull a log will that give you more info?
Probably not, but on the other hand, the debug version has a lot of extra checks enabled, and is certainly worth a test (I run the debug version almost exclusively myself).

Also, in the command line that I posted, the much simpler OpenGL 1.2 renderer is used, which in turn can be helpful to exclude e.g. problems from normal-maps, just in case that something wrong with them causes the equivalent of "no lighting at all".

So using the debug version is worth a test, especially as the previous calls to SCons should have readily built it already.
I am guessing you are using pixbuf, so maybe I have something incompatible in gtk2(?).
No, the images are loaded by direct use of libpng (and libjpeg). The Cafu Engine does nothing that is particularly fancy or otherwise on the borderline of any specs, but we're probably seeing just a minimal incompatibility somewhere with great effect...
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by Carsten » 2014-02-17, 01:14

Just a quick update:

I did not yet get much further on this today, but found these links to a problem that sounds suspiciously similar:
Best regards,
Carsten
adsicks
Posts:10
Joined:2014-02-11, 12:26

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by adsicks » 2014-02-18, 23:22

In the main menu, the bottom left button is "New Game", and in the subsequent dialog, there is a choice of maps (it doesn't matter which one you take), and a single "OK" button that loads and starts the map.
In the maps, a lot of jpg textures are used for the walls, and I was wondering if they're all black, too?
I had tried that already. On one map I could see a few things flasing and that was the only way I knew I was moving around, but for the most part they are all black.
No, the images are loaded by direct use of libpng (and libjpeg). The Cafu Engine does nothing that is particularly fancy or otherwise on the borderline of any specs, but we're probably seeing just a minimal incompatibility somewhere with great effect...
So in that case there must be some kind of problem opening the files.

I will run the Debug version and see what happens.

First I will look at the bugs you posted.
adsicks
Posts:10
Joined:2014-02-11, 12:26

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by adsicks » 2014-02-18, 23:37

If I fix the pngs that are 'loose' will the ones that are in the zip archive need to be fixed on your end as the archive is protected?

I am going through the files that throw an error in the debug version:

Code: Select all

Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_px.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_py.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_pz.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_nx.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_ny.png".
Warning: Could not load the bitmap at "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes/PK_BrightDay2_nz.png".
None of these files are in that directory.
also:

Code: Select all

Shotgun_v_arm1_diff.png
was not in the:

Code: Select all

Games/DeathMatch/Models/Weapons/Beretta/
possibly in the archive and unzipped at runtime(?)


IDAT all looked Ok in the Fonts directory and subdirectory where I am guessing the Fonts are pulled from to be rendered?
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by Carsten » 2014-02-19, 19:29

Hi adsicks,

thanks for the new updates!

A test with the debug version still looks worthwhile to me.

Don't worry about the SkyDomes.zip file, or the fact that it is encrypted: Nothing secret is contained therein, and you could easily patch to code to print out the password that is used for the encryption. These days this archive is just a demonstration that the Cafu Engine is capable to read files not only straight from the file-system, but also from zip archives, possibly encrypted.

What comes to mind though, what both png image files and zip files have in common, is the zlib library. The currently newest release is 1.2.8, which both Cafu and probably Gentoo use.

File Shotgun_v_arm1_diff.png is really missing, nothing to worry about.

Fonts (image and related data files) are indeed loaded from the Fonts directory.

I'm currently considering trying a Gentoo in a VirtualBox. This would be a first for me, but if I could then reproduce this, it would also be a big help. :cheesy:
Best regards,
Carsten
adsicks
Posts:10
Joined:2014-02-11, 12:26

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by adsicks » 2014-02-20, 20:41

Ran it in the debug version with the same results. zlib is 1.2.8-r1.
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Re: No fonts in Demos

Post by Carsten » 2014-02-21, 16:12

Ok, thanks.

I'll leave the topic reply notification in my inbox as a reminder, so that this is guaranteed not to get forgotten, and see if I can setup a Gentoo instance in a VirtualBox over the weekend.
Best regards,
Carsten
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests