Media

Get help with installing and running the Cafu Engine here. This forum is also for general questions and discussion of all aspects regarding the Cafu Engine.
Post Reply
User avatar
Shadow
Posts: 195
Joined: 2004-08-28, 06:00
Location: Minesota, USofA
Contact:

Media

Post by Shadow » 2004-08-30, 04:39

Do we have to include our media with the game? or is there a way to compile everything into 1 like other engines i have used?
Image
PBX CONTINUES!!!
CLICK HERE!!
Camille
Posts: 11
Joined: 2004-08-25, 10:03

Post by Camille » 2004-08-30, 09:32

is your question means :
is all the media (sound, grafX,...) will be included in one file (.pak file as in HL) or all the media must be putted as is in various drectorie.

so the answer is :
for the moment, all the media are putted in different directories
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2160
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Media

Post by Carsten » 2004-08-30, 11:17

Shadow wrote:Do we have to include our media with the game? or is there a way to compile everything into 1 like other engines i have used?
I also have to guess what your question actually means, but if you want to know if you can put your individual files into a single zip File archive for access by the engine (rather then having to store them individually in the directories as does the current demo release), then the answer is: later.
This is a feature that is planned for future releases. Its likelihood for implementation increases the more I work with and employ wxWidgets, as wxWidgets comes with a handler for zip file systems.
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
Shadow
Posts: 195
Joined: 2004-08-28, 06:00
Location: Minesota, USofA
Contact:

Post by Shadow » 2004-08-31, 03:46

one of the engines i used to use compiled EVERYTHING needed for the game into a SINGLE exe file. thats what i was wondering if that was possible with this engine.
Image
PBX CONTINUES!!!
CLICK HERE!!
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2160
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Carsten » 2004-08-31, 10:30

No. Although I could in theory do that, putting everything into a single exe is highly inconvenient for developers, highly inconvenient for mappers, modders, and all other artists and contributors, and still pretty annoying for end users. ;)
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
Shadow
Posts: 195
Joined: 2004-08-28, 06:00
Location: Minesota, USofA
Contact:

Post by Shadow » 2004-08-31, 16:07

Yes i can see the inconvience for modders but not developers but it doesnt matter. The main thing is modders just not being able to steal the models from the game. But that doesnt matter at this time either since im not close to release yet
Image
PBX CONTINUES!!!
CLICK HERE!!
FraGGer
Posts: 29
Joined: 2004-08-25, 14:56
Contact:

Post by FraGGer » 2004-08-31, 19:03

hmmzzz

in cod i use pk3 files wich the engine can read and u can freeley open with winzip/winrar pretty easy

in doom3 i use pk4 wich is the same as pk3 i think ??
User avatar
Thrawn
Posts: 302
Joined: 2004-08-30, 10:38
Location: NRW, Germany
Contact:

Post by Thrawn » 2004-08-31, 20:29

Yes it's the same file type it's just a normal zip-file that compresses the data (parly extremly 25MB to 100kb) but just has got another ending.
Camille
Posts: 11
Joined: 2004-08-25, 10:03

Post by Camille » 2004-09-01, 09:14

Shadow wrote:Yes i can see the inconvience for modders but not developers but it doesnt matter. The main thing is modders just not being able to steal the models from the game. But that doesnt matter at this time either since im not close to release yet
"stealing media" is not a bad thing : just look at the numbers of new models for half life based on the animation of the game models...
a lot of mod use the same amterial as the normal game too.
User avatar
Kai
Posts: 177
Joined: 2004-08-19, 15:56
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Kai » 2004-09-01, 12:32

Hmm i think what Shadow means is the unauthorised use of media.

In the case of HL1 all material is provided for free through the SDK, so there is a permisson from all authors / Valve.

So "stealing media" is a bad thing if the author is not giving his permission. But there is no real way to provide this, exept for an encrypted version of the game in one exe ..

pak3 or 4 is just a compressed version of the content .. you can even decompressed the content, and Doom3 or whatever will run a little faster..
FraGGer
Posts: 29
Joined: 2004-08-25, 14:56
Contact:

Post by FraGGer » 2004-09-01, 14:18

hmmz execuse me but ehrm

i got doom3 installed on 2 different pc's one is a P-IV and one a P-III 900mhz and when i didnt extrackt the pk4 files it didnt run the game when i did extract all fies it did run nice nad smooth (long load times but hey i can play it)
on the PiV i can run it without extracting all the shit but since i edit q3 engines a long sime ago (since sof1 actually) i know that when u extract all the things it runs smoother :D:D
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests