Page 1 of 1

Scons Problem

Posted: 2012-01-30, 15:23
by X21
Hello,
I have this project for my Programming class where every team must develop a game for the final presentation. My professor recommends the use of Dark GDK as a c++ game engine but I showed him the Cafu engine and he agreed to let our team to use Cafu. I have downloaded the engine, Python 2.7, and Scons. Python installed fine and I installed scons as an administrator and changed the compiler architecture to 32 bit according to the forum here. I cant figure out what im doing wrong any suggestions? I have no clue if scons works right on my computer because the files are there in the Python folder yet the command prompt does not recognize the scons commands at all

Re: Scons Problem

Posted: 2012-01-30, 15:57
by Haimi
Hi X21,
have you tried to start scons entering the whole path to the scons Executable? On my Mac, this works fine.

Re: Scons Problem

Posted: 2012-01-30, 17:34
by X21
Haimi wrote:Hi X21,
have you tried to start scons entering the whole path to the scons Executable? On my Mac, this works fine.
It works now but it now says :

Code: Select all

C:\Python27\Scripts>scons C:\Users\Eric\Documents\Cafu

scons: *** No SConstruct file found.
File "C:\Python27\Scripts\..\Lib\site-packages\scons-2.1.0\SCons\Script\Main.py"
, line 904, in _main

Re: Scons Problem

Posted: 2012-01-30, 21:17
by Carsten
Hi X21,
welcome to the Cafu forums! :welcome:

Please change directory into the Cafu top-level directory, i.e.

Code: Select all

C:\Python27\Scripts> cd C:\Users\Eric\Documents\Cafu
C:\Users\Eric\Documents\Cafu> scons
should work. :up:

Re: Scons Problem

Posted: 2012-01-31, 02:19
by X21
Carsten wrote: Please change directory into the Cafu top-level directory, i.e.

Code: Select all

C:\Python27\Scripts> cd C:\Users\Eric\Documents\Cafu
C:\Users\Eric\Documents\Cafu> scons
should work. :up:
Ive tried that before and it dosent work. Scons will only work if I call it from its working directory. Ive tried to add user and system enviroment variables but it still dose not work. maybe I messed up somewhere?
I made the enviroment variables these:

Code: Select all

User variables for Eric: 
 Variable name: scons
Variable value: C:\Python27\Scripts

System variables : 
Variable name: scons
Variable value: C:\Python27\Scripts

Re: Scons Problem

Posted: 2012-01-31, 10:50
by Carsten
X21 wrote: I made the enviroment variables these:

Code: Select all

User variables for Eric: 
 Variable name: scons
Variable value: C:\Python27\Scripts

System variables : 
Variable name: scons
Variable value: C:\Python27\Scripts
Sorry, I don't quite understand what you did...
As described at Getting Started with the Cafu Source Code / Python and SCons / Windows, you have to add both C:\Python27 and C:\Python27\Scripts to the PATH environment variable, see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310519 and http://vlaurie.com/computers2/Articles/environment.htm for additional information.

When set, check the result with

Code: Select all

echo %PATH%
If it contains the above two Python paths, scons should work as well.
If it still doesn't, please post both the output of running echo %PATH% and scons.

Re: Scons Problem

Posted: 2012-01-31, 18:54
by X21
Ok It built now. Thanks for the help :D