Help with a Team component

Get technical support about the C++ source code and about Lua scripts for maps, entities, GUIs, the console, materials, etc. Also covered are the Cafu libraries and APIs, as well as compiling, linking, and the build system.
SoulRider
Help with a Team component

Post by SoulRider » 2014-08-15, 03:39

As I am very new to C++, I am having troubles creating my Team Component. There are a few syntax errors, but I am a bit confused so I'd thought I'd post my work so far, and look for some explanations on what I am doing wrong, and what I am not understanding.

I am trying to create a CompTeam, but I seem to have made a bit of a mess of it. I started off with CompBasics and began editing that into CompTeam. I would appreciate a few pointers on where I am going wrong :)

Files are attached below.

I am trying to create a variable m_TeamNum and want lua functions to get and set team number.
Attachments
CompTeam.hpp
The Header file
(2.73KiB)Downloaded 409 times
CompTeam.cpp
The cpp file
(5.19KiB)Downloaded 402 times
Carsten
Site Admin

Re: Help with a Team component

Post by Carsten » 2014-08-15, 17:10

Hi SoulRider,

I've just had a look at your files. Generally, they look very good. I think what got you caught was the very first two lines in the header file:

Code: Select all

#ifndef CAFU_GAMESYS_COMPONENT_ENTITY_BASICS_HPP_INCLUDED
#define CAFU_GAMESYS_COMPONENT_ENTITY_BASICS_HPP_INCLUDED
The problem is the "BASICS" part, that is, these two lines are the same as in the CompBasics.hpp file.

This error now and then happens to me, too, and often in such cases it is completely unclear from compiler output that this is the root of the problem, because the error messages tend to point entirely elsewhere. If you change these two lines to e.g.

#ifndef CAFU_GAMESYS_COMPONENT_ENTITY_TEAM_HPP_INCLUDED
#define CAFU_GAMESYS_COMPONENT_ENTITY_TEAM_HPP_INCLUDED