Compiling maps directly with CaWE

A forum about everything related to the Cafu World Editor CaWE: mapping, editing, scripting, making GUIs and fonts, using the BSP, PVS and Light compilers.
Post Reply
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:
Compiling maps directly with CaWE

Post by Carsten » 2006-04-27, 11:50

Hi all,

thanks to several thoughtful suggestions by Thrawn and Kai about improvements for CaWE, it will soon be possible to compile maps directly within CaWE.

Here is a preview of how it will look like:
http://images.ca3de-community.de/main.p ... itemId=385

Hope you like it. :cheesy:
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
Kai
Posts:177
Joined:2004-08-19, 15:56
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Kai » 2006-04-27, 16:38

Waited for this so long XD

Really this is great ! It will speed things up, and im sure other users will like it too !
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Carsten » 2006-04-28, 17:55

DONE! :captain:

Updated CaWE.exe is at http://carsten.ca3de-community.de/tempStuff/CaWE.exe

You may test it as you wish, I'll then update the entire SDK bundle in one or two weeks.

EDIT 2006-08-08: Updated URL.
Last edited by Carsten on 2006-08-08, 19:36, edited 1 time in total.
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
Thrawn
Posts:302
Joined:2004-08-30, 10:38
Location:NRW, Germany
Contact:

Post by Thrawn » 2006-04-28, 18:41

Can't believe this, I waited 2 and 1/2 years for it and today it finally became reality XD
Image
Sindwiller
Posts:108
Joined:2006-04-14, 21:11
Location:Zürich, Switzerland

Post by Sindwiller » 2006-04-28, 18:52

AWW! No Linux version :cry:

Wfr, Sindwiller
Im Working on:
- Some Linux Bash-Scripts for installing stuff. Dont ask further questions, because i can't explain that more simple ^^
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Carsten » 2006-04-28, 21:29

Sorry, I remembered to test the Linux version, but forgot to upload it. Will do so asap over the weekend.
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
Kai
Posts:177
Joined:2004-08-19, 15:56
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Kai » 2006-04-28, 21:39

Not sure ,but after clicking the browse button for the textures, CaWe mutates into a memory hog, not showing any textures but an increase of the consuming mem (i aborted when reaching 350 mb)

This is always repeatable to me .. i can't browse the texture lib of CaWe, but with the old exe it was no problem XD

Edit:
At 450 MB it finally opened the browser ..
This is because of so many mats and textures for the techdemo .. we need to clean things up !


Edit 2nd:
Wheee finally it worked so well, man this is how it should be since the first time i tried it XD
Carsten this was the most valuable improvement so far .. ;)
*running around his first own level*
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Carsten » 2006-04-28, 22:51

Hi Kai,
this is known behaviour -- 7000+ materials leave their memory footprint after all, see http://www.ca3d-engine.de/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=198 for details (the "Note:" below point 3). ;) On my system it even goes up up to 600 MB RAM usage.
Loading all these textures also takes some time, and is responsible for many of the one-time initialization delays that you observe.
It also should have been the same with all previous versions (if you installed them properly), they behaved the same.

All this is caused by the (more than) 7000 materials that CaWE has to load during init (details to be discussed in the TD Dev forum pls ;) ). But you're right: This (the cmats) should be cleaned up, and doing so will also lower system requirements dramatically.
Best regards,
Carsten
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Carsten » 2006-04-28, 23:33

Kai wrote:Edit 2nd:
Wheee finally it worked so well, man this is how it should be since the first time i tried it XD
Carsten this was the most valuable improvement so far .. ;)
*running around his first own level*
Wow, :thanks: it's good to hear that!!

:idhitit:
Best regards,
Carsten
ReFlex
Posts:5
Joined:2004-09-16, 20:18
Location:Austria
Contact:

Post by ReFlex » 2006-04-29, 11:31

Hat der Editor eine Lichtvorschau, sieht auf dem Bild oben so aus... Oo?

Edit: Ist bei der SDK auch die Demo zum testen dabei, würd gerne mal den Editor versuchen. :)
Image
User avatar
Kai
Posts:177
Joined:2004-08-19, 15:56
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Kai » 2006-04-29, 14:52

Nein eine Lichtpreview gibt so noch nicht, allerdings hat das Previewfenster im 3D View schon einen passenden Eintrag, es ist also schon geplant ;)

Ja das SDK hat bereits ein Testlevel, sowie alles was man zum testen braucht . Kannst also direkt CaWe starten , compilen und probespielen
ReFlex
Posts:5
Joined:2004-09-16, 20:18
Location:Austria
Contact:

Post by ReFlex » 2006-04-29, 15:10

Ok, danke.
Werd es mir mal ansehen. :)
Image
Sindwiller
Posts:108
Joined:2006-04-14, 21:11
Location:Zürich, Switzerland

Post by Sindwiller » 2006-04-29, 20:54

ReFlex wrote:Ok, danke.
Werd es mir mal ansehen. :)
Viel Spass beim Entdecken! ;)

Mfg, Sindwiller
Im Working on:
- Some Linux Bash-Scripts for installing stuff. Dont ask further questions, because i can't explain that more simple ^^
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts:2170
Joined:2004-08-19, 13:46
Location:Germany
Contact:

Post by Carsten » 2006-04-30, 10:13

Please note that languages other than English are okay on this board only when the poster feels that he cannot express himself clearly in English, but can do so in his favourite language.

Answers to such mixed language posts should preferrably be written in English again, possibly summarizing the original (foreign language) question.

This is because the use of any language other than English tends to exclude the vast majority of forum participants from discussion.

:thanks:
Best regards,
Carsten
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest