Page 1 of 1

CaWE error on startup

Posted: 2010-09-27, 04:18
by Scorphame
Hey I have a Error:

Code: Select all

FAILED - Could not load the library at Libs/build/win32/vc8/release/MaterialSystem/RenderOpenGL12.dll

Re: Problem with the Text Indicator

Posted: 2010-09-27, 11:30
by Carsten
I've detached your post from the thread you posted it to - please create new threads for new topics!
Scorphame wrote:Hey I have a Error:

Code: Select all

FAILED - Could not load the library at Libs/build/win32/vc8/release/MaterialSystem/RenderOpenGL12.dll
Please read http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/articles/1295/ (or the more detailed version by Eric Steven Raymond at http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html, especially section Be precise).

Re: Problem with the Text Indicator

Posted: 2010-09-28, 01:07
by Scorphame
ok i'll try to be more precise.

When I opened the CAWE (the CAWE uploaded in the original post where I posted) I have the next error message

Code: Select all

FAILED - Could not load the library at Libs/build/win32/vc8/release/MaterialSystem/RenderOpenGL12.dll

Re: CaWE error on startup

Posted: 2010-09-28, 11:52
by Carsten
Well, I understood that before, but please let us know:
  • Which version do you use? (9.06, r154, ...)? source code or binary?
  • Was the error there from the beginning, or did it just start to occur recently?
  • Did it ever work without this error message?
  • Did you make any changes to the binary or source code packages?
  • Which Operating System do you use? If compiling from source code, which compilers?
  • Which post of yours are you referring to?

Re: CaWE error on startup

Posted: 2010-09-29, 00:50
by Scorphame
Carsten wrote:
  • Which version do you use? (9.06, r154, ...)? source code or binary?
  • Was the error there from the beginning, or did it just start to occur recently?
  • Did it ever work without this error message?
  • Did you make any changes to the binary or source code packages?
  • Which Operating System do you use? If compiling from source code, which compilers?
  • Which post of yours are you referring to?
1- 9.06 r154 source code
2- when I try to execute the new CAWE. the "old-CAWE" runs correctly
3- the old CAWE didn't have that message so I worked with CAWE before
4- No
5- Windows XP 2002 Service Pack 3, I used VS C++ 2010

Re: CaWE error on startup

Posted: 2010-09-29, 09:25
by Carsten
When the source code is compiled with VC10, the CaWE and Cafu binaries should be looking in Libs/build/win32/vc10/x86/..., not in Libs/build/win32/vc8/... for Renderer and SoundSys implementations.

It looks as if you started the CaWE.exe from version 9.06 instead of the newer one from r154?

Did you copy things over each other (you shouldn't) ?
Note that the build process does not copy CaWE.exe to the top-level (working) directory. Try running CaWE from the same working directory, but using file build/win32/vc10/x86/release/CaWE.exe instead.

Re: CaWE error on startup

Posted: 2010-11-22, 17:45
by BRabbit
Other solution would be opening Libs/PlatformAux.cpp and changing the line 208 from

Code: Select all

#ifdef SCONS_BUILD_DIR
to

Code: Select all

#ifdef SCONS_BUILD_DIR_X
. Recompile it and place the RendererOpenGl12.dll in the same folder as CaWe.

Re: CaWE error on startup

Posted: 2010-11-22, 23:55
by Carsten
BRabbit wrote:Other solution would be opening Libs/PlatformAux.cpp and changing the line 208 from

Code: Select all

#ifdef SCONS_BUILD_DIR
to

Code: Select all

#ifdef SCONS_BUILD_DIR_X
. Recompile it and place the RendererOpenGl12.dll in the same folder as CaWe.
Hmmm, sorry, but I cannot generally (or "officially") endorse that.
The SCONS_BUILD_DIR exists so that Cafu and related programs can find their dynamically loaded libraries, even in the presence of multiple platforms, multiple compilers (possibly in multiple versions) and multiple build variants...
I know that this may seem like additional work, but it pays out in the long run.