Terrain & me

A forum about everything related to the Cafu World Editor CaWE: mapping, editing, scripting, making GUIs and fonts, using the BSP, PVS and Light compilers.
An0maly
Terrain & me

Post by An0maly » 2012-03-30, 12:56

Hello, i am new to the Cafu community, but i come with moderate/brief experience.
(listed)
-Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy Mapping (GTK Radiant; quite similar to Cafu's CaWE)
-RunUO's Ultima Online Emulator: (C# Modding/Light scripting/mapping 2 yrs experience)

i can see some similarities in the creation of a map, in both jedi academy, as well as Ultima, though i have a few questions. In ultima, for example. when creating a 'map', you would draw it out including the color-settings for the Height map, in paint, or whatever your artwork program may be, and then run it through a compiler, and it would present to you, elevations and all, a rough copy of what you had, based on a specific color palette. In jedi academy, elevation was determined by you, you would shape each object to fit your needs, as well as apply the appropriate texture, and thus, was your product. (3d and all that good stuff in JA)

My end goal, is a bit of a hybrid. I want to apply the personal skill, and functionality of any shooter game, with the play style & open world of an MMO.
I come in with full knowledge that i will be 100% re-scripting everything, that is not an issue. My issue & questions come with the world itself;