Terragen worlds for use with Ca3d Engine

A forum about everything related to the Cafu World Editor CaWE: mapping, editing, scripting, making GUIs and fonts, using the BSP, PVS and Light compilers.
Post Reply
PG
Posts: 5
Joined: 2006-02-26, 17:26

Terragen worlds for use with Ca3d Engine

Post by PG » 2006-02-26, 17:29

I read somewhere on the main page or the features pagethat Terragen can be used to create the terrain for worlds. How can do this? I've made some great terrains if I do say so myself but have no idea how to use them. :roll:
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2169
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Carsten » 2006-02-27, 10:58

Hi PG,

you have to create a new map using the Ca3DE World Editor "CaWE", and inside this map, terrains can be created.

General information about map-making and CaWE is here (section "Mapping"):
http://www.ca3d-engine.de/wiki/doku.php

Making terrains is explained here:
http://www.ca3d-engine.de/wiki/doku.php ... newterrain

If anything is unclear or you have more questions, please ask again! :-)
Best regards,
Carsten
PG
Posts: 5
Joined: 2006-02-26, 17:26

Post by PG » 2006-02-27, 12:01

Thanks Carsten, I already had the first one with the Engine's documentation but the second one was very useful. I'll try it when I get home and report back. By the way Can the terrains be made with polygons. eg Zmodeler?
I just wanted to show you my terrains I've created:
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2169
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Carsten » 2006-02-28, 11:24

Pg, your screenshots look very nice, but you should keep in mind that Ca3DE is primarily a first-person engine. That means that distances are typically crossed on foot, not by airplane.
Ca3DE can handle terrains of several km^2 or miles^2 in size, but not hundreds or thousands of them.
For the Tech-Demo, we're currently working with terrains that are 1 km^2 in total size, with quite some fraction being underwater. Even such "small" terrains takes several minutes to cross on foot, and the feel very big from the first-persons perspective.
So maybe you should not expect Ca3DE to be able to handle half a continent... ;)
Best regards,
Carsten
PG
Posts: 5
Joined: 2006-02-26, 17:26

Post by PG » 2006-02-28, 12:23

Oh Right. I really need a sort of in car/on foot thing. Like The Getaway or GTA VC. Damn I don't know any other Engine that uses Terragen files.
User avatar
Thrawn
Posts: 302
Joined: 2004-08-30, 10:38
Location: NRW, Germany
Contact:

Post by Thrawn » 2006-02-28, 14:27

Although the Ca3D-Engine supports terragen terrains, it's not a viewer for them!

You can only import the terrain mesh, it's texture and the sky but that's all...
Image
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests