Cafu Engine Startup Error

Get help with installing and running the Cafu Engine here. This forum is also for general questions and discussion of all aspects regarding the Cafu Engine.
rtdds
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-11-11, 19:44

Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby rtdds » 2010-11-11, 20:00

Hello,
I would like to develope a game and so i downloaded the Cafu Binary Release "cafu-bin-r174-win32.zip" an unzipped it.
Next I double-clicked the "Cafu.exe" and the there cames two Error-Messages with the same text:

Error1.JPG

And then after I clicked twice "abort", the following Error showed up:

Error2.JPG
Error2.JPG (9.98 KiB) Viewed 3573 times

So I hope anyone can tell me how to solve this Problem.
Thanks!

PS: "CaWe.exe" runs normally
Last edited by Carsten on 2010-11-12, 17:48, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Properly inlined attachments.
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2130
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby Carsten » 2010-11-11, 21:16

Hi rtdds,
welcome to the Cafu forums! :welcome:

Did you start Cafu.exe by double-click or by command-line?
(Did you extract the zip archive preserving the directory hierarchy?)
Can you please try running it from the command-line, and post any output that occurs?
Best regards,
Carsten
rtdds
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-11-11, 19:44

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby rtdds » 2010-11-11, 21:34

I had extract it with winrar (Right-Click on the File and <I think in english it will be:> "unzipp here"). So there where the dictionary "Cafu-bin-r174".
Then I had double-clicked on the "Cafu.exe" an the Error were displayed (see Post 1).
Next thing I have tried to run it from the Command-Line: the same errors and on the Command-Line:
***Caught unhandled unkown exception; terminating

My command was:
C:\Cafu-bin-r174>Cafu.exe
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2130
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby Carsten » 2010-11-11, 23:07

Ok, thanks.
I just tested on two additional computers, and one seemed to have trouble loading the sound system, with symptoms that looked similar to yours.

Can you please try again with this command-line:

Code: Select all

 Cafu.exe -clSoundSystem:SoundSysNull.dll -log:console.txt -noFS

If it still doesn't work then, please post the contents of file console.txt here.
Best regards,
Carsten
rtdds
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-11-11, 19:44

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby rtdds » 2010-11-12, 07:10

Nothing changed. There are the same errors. Here the content of the "console.txt":

Code: Select all

Cafu Engine, Nov  5 2010
config.lua processed.
Warning: Failed to open ZIP archive Games/DeathMatch/Textures/TechDemo.zip
Registering archive "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes.zip".

Scanning cwd for all available renderers...
./RendererARBprogs.dll ... SUCCESS - first supported renderer (Pref# 2200).
./RendererCgARB1.dll ... SUCCESS - but no higher preference (Pref# 2100).
./RendererCgNV2X.dll ... SUCCESS - but no higher preference (Pref# 2000).
./RendererNull.dll ... SUCCESS - but excluded from auto-selection (Pref# 1).
./RendererOpenGL12.dll ... SUCCESS - but no higher preference (Pref# 1000).
Reloading previously auto-selected renderer ./RendererARBprogs.dll ...
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2130
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby Carsten » 2010-11-12, 16:24

Hi,
ok, well, this is pretty difficult, as I cannot see the problem on any of my local machines.

  • Can you please try again with

    Code: Select all

    Cafu.exe -clRenderer:RendererOpenGL12.dll -clSoundSystem:SoundSysNull.dll -log:console.txt -noFS
    and then post console.txt again?

  • It would be ideal if you could compile Cafu yourself, as explained at Getting Started with the Cafu Source Code, the run the debug version under debugger control. The stack trace would then indicate where the crash occurred. Is that an option?

  • Alternatively, I can try to come up with a new exe that produces a mini-dump when the crash occurs. I'd send this modified exe to you, and you could post whatever this produces. I however have to test this locally first.
Best regards,
Carsten
rtdds
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-11-11, 19:44

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby rtdds » 2010-11-12, 16:38

Here is the Command-Line Output:

Code: Select all

Cafu Engine, Nov  5 2010
config.lua processed.
Warning: Failed to open ZIP archive Games/DeathMatch/Textures/TechDemo.zip
Registering archive "Games/DeathMatch/Textures/SkyDomes.zip".


Hmm, I have no "TechDemo.zip", but I have got a Dictionary which is called "TechDemo.

Now, I can try to compile the Engine.

EDIT: Hmpf, I have got an scons-Error while I compiled the sourcecode:

scons: *** No platform named 'win32'
FILE "C:\Cafu-src-r174\SConstruct", line 5, in <module>
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2130
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby Carsten » 2010-11-12, 17:43

rtdds wrote:Hmm, I have no "TechDemo.zip", but I have got a Dictionary which is called "TechDemo.

That's ok, not a problem.

Now, I can try to compile the Engine.
EDIT: Hmpf, I have got an scons-Error while I compiled the sourcecode:

scons: *** No platform named 'win32'
FILE "C:\Cafu-src-r174\SConstruct", line 5, in <module>

Can you please state more details about your system, i.e. platform details (32 or 64 bit), OS version, compiler version, etc.? Add whatever else seems relevant.
Also, please post the complete output of everything - were there any other messages from scons besides the above?

Oh, and another question: Do you happen to have (access to) another system where you can try the binary demo?
Best regards,
Carsten
rtdds
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-11-11, 19:44

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby rtdds » 2010-11-12, 18:01

My System:
Windows XP 32 bit
AMD Althon 3700+
3072mb RAM
nvidia GeForce 9500 (512mb Memory and newest nvidia dirver with opengl 3.x support)

I had post everything I get.

Now I will try it on an older Laptop.

EDIT:
ok, I had tried it on my old Laptop and on this machine the engine is running.

EDIT2:
I had installed on my machine the following:
microsoft visual c++ 2008 / 2010 express edition
microsoft visual c# 2008 / 2010 express edition
microsoft xna 3.1 for visual studio c# 2008 express
microsoft xna 4.0 for visual studio c# 2010 express
SlimDX SDK
newest DirectX 9.0
Panda3D 1.7
Ogre Game Engine
Ox Game Engine
scons
python 2.7 (manual path variable setting)

so I think this are the interested things I had installed
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2130
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby Carsten » 2010-11-12, 22:13

Thanks for all the information! :up:

I've spent the better part of the day with adding automatic debug reports to Cafu, see http://trac.cafu.de/ticket/51 for the result and details.
However, considering the problems that come with these reports, I've not actually applied this to the code.

  • One option to proceed is that I send you debug binaries of the r174 release. If you have a just-in-time or "post-mortem" debugger installed, when the next crash occurs, the debugger will automatically open and you will be able to see the stack trace.

  • Another option is that we finish compiling from source. The advantage is that the debugger will then be able to point you exactly to the place in code where the crash occurred.

    For doing this, could you please post again the full output of SCons?
    For example, when I run SCons on my system, the output (with everything fully build already) looks like this:

    Code: Select all

    D:\Dev\Cafu>scons
    scons: Reading SConscript files ...

    os.chdir('ExtLibs/wxWidgets/build/msw')
    nmake /nologo /f makefile.vc BUILD=debug SHARED=0 RUNTIME_LIBS=static COMPILER_PREFIX=vc8
    os.chdir('D:\\Dev\\Cafu')
    os.chdir('ExtLibs/wxWidgets/build/msw')
    nmake /nologo /f makefile.vc BUILD=release SHARED=0 RUNTIME_LIBS=static COMPILER_PREFIX=vc8
    os.chdir('D:\\Dev\\Cafu')

    scons: done reading SConscript files.
    scons: Building targets ...
    scons: building associated VariantDir targets: build\win32\vc8\x86\debug build\win32\vc8\x86\release
    scons: `.' is up to date.
    scons: done building targets.

    D:\Dev\Cafu>
Best regards,
Carsten
rtdds
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-11-11, 19:44

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby rtdds » 2010-11-12, 22:47

Ok, letzt try to compile with scons:

Code: Select all

C:\Cafu-src-r174>cmd
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Cafu-src-r174>scons
scons: Reading SConscript files ...

scons: *** No platform named 'win32'
File "C:\Cafu-src-r174\SConstruct", line 5, in <module>

C:\Cafu-src-r174>


EDIT: I had nothing changed in CompilerSetup.py, so it tries to find automaticaly a Compiler. Is this right?
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2130
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby Carsten » 2010-11-12, 23:05

rtdds wrote:

Code: Select all

C:\Cafu-src-r174>cmd
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Cafu-src-r174>scons
scons: Reading SConscript files ...

scons: *** No platform named 'win32'
File "C:\Cafu-src-r174\SConstruct", line 5, in <module>

Ok, thanks, this looks like an installation problem: Did you install SCons properly as explained at Python and SCons?
Did you run the Windows installer with the proper (administrative) rights?

EDIT: I had nothing changed in CompilerSetup.py, so it tries to find automaticaly a Compiler. Is this right?

Yes, that's fine - unless there are more problems later. E.g. if it doesn't work with VC++ 2010, you can use it to try VC++ 2008 as documented in the file itself.
Best regards,
Carsten
rtdds
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-11-11, 19:44

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby rtdds » 2010-11-12, 23:15

Yes I had runned it as administrator.
I had gone the following steps:
1. Installing Python 2.7
2. Installing Scons 2.0.1
3. Setup the path-Variables
4. "scons -v" in Command-Line because of checking if it is all right
5. Copy "Cafu/CompilerSetup.py.tmp" and then rename the copied file to
"Cafu/CompilerSetup.py"
6. Open Command-Line, go to the Cafu-Source-Directory and "scons" in the Command-Line

Was this right or had I something forgotten?
User avatar
Carsten
Site Admin
Posts: 2130
Joined: 2004-08-19, 13:46
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby Carsten » 2010-11-13, 18:25

This looks about right, but unfortunately I'm out of ideas.

This is however a problem with the SCons installation, not with Cafu.

  • Do you happen to have more than one version of Python and/or SCons installed?
  • Does is mention any problems in file c:\Python27\scons-wininst.log?
    • You may have to search for the exact location of the file, your path may be different.
    • What does

      Code: Select all

      type c:\Python27\scons-wininst.log | find "win32"
      output?
  • As you're on WinXP (as opposed to Vista or 7), does it help if you reinstall SCons as the user that you're also using for using/running SCons?
Best regards,
Carsten
rtdds
Posts: 19
Joined: 2010-11-11, 19:44

Re: Cafu Engine Startup Error

Postby rtdds » 2010-11-13, 19:56

Ok, I found the problem, thank you.
I had forgotten that I had installed Blender and with Python 6.x.x, after I had uninstalled it, and changed the "CompilerSetup.py" because I had installed visual studio 2010 express and the automatic function had set this as default. So I had to change it to vc# 2008 express.
But now there is an other problem after the long time of compiling:
When I start the compiled "Cafu.exe", I got an Messagebox-Error:
"Could not find a renderer that is supportet on your System"

Return to “Cafu Engine Support and Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest